Follow

How do plan changes (Upgrade or Downgrade) work?

Plan changes can be made at any time through Manage Account -> Change Plan

Once you choose your new plan, it will take effect in one of two ways depending on if it is an upgrade to a longer term or downgrade to a shorter term compared to your current plan. Upgrades take effect immediately, downgrades take effect at the end of the current term (see below for details). This is because our longer term plans are discounted so when you upgrade we want to get you on the better rate as soon as possible!

Upgrade to a longer term:

When you upgrade to a longer term plan, your account will receive a pro-rated credit for the remaining time on your current plan, then be immediately charged for the new plan. Your account will then be set to renew based on the current date and new term for your longer term plan. 

For example, if you are on a monthly, $49 plan, then upgrade to a yearly, $449 plan after two weeks, your account will be credited ~$23 (exact amount would depend on the day and time of the upgrade compared to the day and time your subscription has remaining), then charged ~$426 for the new plan. Your account would then renew 12 months from when you upgraded. 

Downgrade to a shorter term:

When you downgrade to a shorter term, the changes will take effect at the end of the current term. 

For example, if you are on a yearly plan for $449 and change to a monthly plan for $49 after 6 months, your account will stay on the yearly plan for 6 months, then renew at the monthly $49 rate when your already paid for year has ended. 

Please email Support@LinuxAcademy.com with any questions!

Was this article helpful?
2 out of 3 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.